CCI at a glance

Our vision

Children’s Care International dreams of a world where children and their families will have the possibility to thrive and live a decent life safe from exploitation.

Our mission

Children’s Care International (CCI) fights against child exploitation around the world; at the same time, it encourages people in this country to promote, by their own actions, a respect for the rights of all children everywhere.

Our values

Sustainibility

Create positive and long-term change for children and communities by focusing our projects on capacity building.

Justice

Respect the rights of all children, allowing them to live a decent life and defending the universality of human rights.

Solidarity

Support communities and defend the most vulnerable people, in partnership with local communities.

Equity

Achieve equality for all children who are victims of injustices and discrimination, by focusing on girls and marginalized groups.

Our history

20 years fighting child labour

Founded in 2000 by Roxana Robin and registered with the federal government since 2001, Children’s Care International (CCI) had for its first mission to open shelter and educative centers for children victims of slavery or sexual exploitation.

In June of 2003, CCI opened a first center in India, more precisely in the state of Andhra Pradesh. In January of 2006, a second center was built next to the first building. The two homes received 60 children, aged from 6 to 15 years old, freed from their condition of slavery by various local organizations. Some of those children worked as stone carvers, others as fishers or factory workers… Since 2003 and untill today, the projects expanded in India in partnership with local organizations. It is then in 2009 that CCI concluded an agreement with the Thai branch of the Foundation for Child Development, achieving the opening of a center for children victims of exploitation in the suburb of Bangkok.

More recently, CCI developed a partenership in Haiti. Since 2019, CCI supports the Haitian branch of MIDADE, a local organization focused on the protection of children’s rights and the fight against trafficking and abuse of children.  Today, CCI has secured its first projects, and continues to support the most vulnerable communities in India, Thailand and Haiti, with the help of its local partners. In addition to the international projects, CCI has always been very active in global citizenship education. Our activities are in fact inspired by our field expertise on the issues surrounding child labour.

Our alliances


Internationally

Since 2011, CCI was granted special consultative status by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC). This status gives CCI access to the UN platform where it can bring to the fore its vision and expertise, as well as contribute to raising the awareness of the international community.

Moreover, as an organization working against child labour, CCI is a proud member of the Alliance 8.7 : a global parternship committed to achieving target 8.7 of the sustainable development goals aimed at eradicating forced labour, modern slavery, human trafficking and child labour around the world.


In Canada

CCI is a member of a federation of international cooperation organizations, a community group and two specialized committees: – Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI) – Corporation de développement communautaire de l’agglomération de Longueuil (CDC AL) – Comité québécois femmes et développement (CQFD) – Coalition québécoise contre la traite des personnes (CQCTP).

For more information:

L’AIPE en un coup d’oeil

 

Notre vision

L’Aide internationale pour l’enfance rêve d’un monde où tous les enfants et leurs familles auront la possibilité de s’épanouir et de vivre une vie décente à l’abri de l’exploitation.

Notre mission

L’Aide internationale pour l’enfance lutte contre l’exploitation des enfants dans le monde tout en encourageant la population d’ici à développer son pouvoir d’action pour favoriser le respect des droits de tous les enfants.

Nos valeurs

Pérennité 

Créer des changements positifs et durables pour les enfants et communautés en axant les projets sur le renforcement des capacités.

Justice

Respecter les droits de tous les enfants pour leur permettre de vivre une vie digne et défendre l’universalité des droits humains.

Solidarité

Soutenir les communautés et défendre les populations les plus vulnérables, et ce en partenariat avec les communautés locales.

Équité

Assurer l’égalité de tous les enfants qui sont victimes d’injustices et de discriminations, en mettant l’accent sur les filles ainsi que les populations marginalisées.

Notre histoire

20 ans de lutte contre l’exploitation des enfants

Fondée en 2000 par Roxana Robin et enregistrée auprès du gouvernement fédéral depuis 2001, l’Aide internationale pour l’enfance (AIPE) s’est donnée pour première mission d’ouvrir des maisons d’accueil à l’intention d’enfants victimes d’esclavage ou de tourisme sexuel.

En juin 2003, l’AIPE ouvrait une première maison d’accueil en Inde, dans l’État de l’Andhra Pradesh. En janvier 2006, une deuxième maison a été construite à côté du premier bâtiment. Les deux maisons recevaient alors 60 enfants, de 6 à 15 ans, libérés de leur condition d’esclavage par diverses organisations locales. Certains de ces enfants travaillaient comme tailleurs de pierre, d’autres comme pêcheurs, d’autres dans une usine de crevettes… Depuis 2003 et jusqu’à aujourd’hui, les projets se sont multipliés en Inde en collaboration avec nos partenaires locaux. C’est ensuite en 2009 que l’AIPE a conclu un accord avec la branche Thaïlandaise de la Foundation for Child Development concrétisant l’ ouverture d’un centre d’accueil pour les enfants victimes d’exploitation dans la banlieue de Bangkok.

Plus récemment, l’AIPE a créé un partenariat en Haïti. Depuis 2019, l’AIPE appuie ainsi la branche haïtienne de MIDADE, un organisme local ayant pour axe d’intervention la protection des droits des enfants et la lutte contre la traite et la maltraitance des enfants.  Aujourd’hui, l’AIPE a pérennisé les projets mis en place dès ses débuts, et continue avec l’aide de ses partenaires locaux de soutenir les communautés les plus vulnérables en Inde, Thaïlande et Haïti. En plus des projets internationaux, l’AIPE a été dès le départ très active en éducation à la citoyenneté mondiale, dont les activités s’inspirent de notre expertise terrain sur les thèmes de l’exploitation et du travail des enfants.  

Retrouvez plus d’informations sur ces projets dans la section « Projets » ainsi que dans les publications de l’AIPE.

Nos alliances


À l'international

L’AIPE dispose d’un statut consultatif spécial auprès du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies (ECOSOC) depuis 2011. Ce statut permet un accès à la tribune que sont les Nations Unies pour porter la vision de l’AIPE et contribuer à la prise de conscience de la communauté internationale.

Par ailleurs, en tant qu’organisme luttant contre l’exploitation des enfants, l’AIPE est membre de l’Alliance 8.7 : un partenariat global engagé à atteindre l’objectif de développement durable 8.7 qui vise à lutter contre le travail forcé, l’esclavage moderne, la traite des personnes, et le travail des enfants.


Au Canada

L’AIPE est membre d’une fédération d’organismes de coopération internationale, d’un regroupement communautaire et de deux comités spécialisés : – Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale (AQOCI) – Corporation de développement communautaire de l’agglomération de Longueuil (CDC AL) – Comité québécois femmes et développement (CQFD) – Coalition québécoise contre la traite des personnes (CQCTP)